Alumni Awards 2012: Wayne L. Sumner '75

Sumner, a 1975 graduate of the Walker College of Business, is president of Jackson Sumner & Associates, an excess and specialty lines managing general agent in Boone.

He has been a partner with Walker College of Business faculty for more than 25 years supporting insurance risk management students. Through the Department of Communication Professional Advisory Board, Sumner has been an advocate for the move of the College of Fine and Applied Arts’ radio and television programs to the George G. Beasley Media Broadcasting Complex. To recognize his longtime support of the broadcasting program, the Board of Trustees approved in spring 2008 naming WASU’s broadcast studio in the news complex the Wayne L. Sumner Studio.

Related videos

  • Alumni Awards 2012: Scott K. Lampe '94
    July 21, 2012

    Lampe is a 1994 graduate of the Walker College of Business. He is vice president and chief financial officer for Hendrick Motorsports, overseeing the aviation, information technology, facilities and human resources departments.

  • Alumni Awards 2012: Stephen J. Dubner '84
    July 21, 2012

    Dubner is a 1984 graduate of the College of Fine and Applied Arts. He is co-author of the best-selling “Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything.” More than four million copies of the book have been sold and it has been translated into 35 languages. The book received a Quill Award in 2005, a BookSense Book of the Year Award, and a Visionary Award from the National Council on Economic Education. It was also named a Notable Book by the New York Times.

  • Alumni Awards 2012: Michael A. Steinback
    July 21, 2012

    Steinback is a partner with Asheville-based Stonebridge Partners, an operations-oriented private equity firm focused on acquiring and successfully growing middle-market manufacturing businesses. Steinback first became engaged with the university through the Walker College of Business’ Business Advisory Council, and later as a member of Appalachian’s Board of Trustees. He has been a member of the Board of Trustees since 2002 and currently is vice chair of the board.