Alumni Awards 2010: Jerry Moore

A native of Bonham, Texas, Moore is now in his 22nd year as head coach of Appalachian's football program. While at Appalachian, Moore has compiled a 189-76 record, making him the coach with the most wins in Southern Conference history. He is one of only five active NCAA Division I FCS head coaches with 200 career victories, and is 23rd among all NCAA Division I coaches (FCS or FBS) in all-time victories.

His 49-year coaching career is replete with milestones, perhaps most notably the past five seasons at Appalachian.

Moore led Appalachian to three-consecutive NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS—formerly Division I-AA) national titles from 2005-07, making Appalachian the first program to ever win three-straight championships at the FCS/I-AA level and the first Division I program, FCS or FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision—formerly Division I-A) to accomplish the feat in 61 years.

He also has led Appalachian to five straight SoCon titles with perfect 8-0 conference records in 2008 and 2009, the second time in the league's 77 years that a team has won as many as five championships in a row. The football program carries a 20-game conference-winning streak into the 2010 campaign, which is tied for the second-longest run of league victories in SoCon history.

Moore led his players to perhaps the biggest upset in college football history, a 34-32 triumph over Michigan in the 2007 season opener.

Moore is a three-time American Football Coaches Association National Coach of the Year and the only Division I (FCS or FBS) mentor in the 74-year history of the award to win the honor three years in a row. He also won the 2006 Eddie Robinson Award (National Coach of the Year) from The Sports Network, is a six-time AFCA Regional Coach of the Year and a seven-time SoCon Coach of the Year.

In 2009, he was named the Liberty Mutual FCS Coach of the Year, an award that included $50,000 for Moore's favorite charities and $20,000 for the Appalachian Alumni Association.


Narrator: The Appalachian Medallion is the highest honor conferred by Appalachian State University. Established in 1992, the Appalachian Medallion is selectively awarded to an individual who has earned both the respect and admiration of the University community. Recipients must demonstrate high moral character, a long and sustained commitment, and significant service to Appalachian. Past recipients of the Appalachian Medallion are Sadie Hunt Broyhill, Lois Reich, Mariam Cannon Hayes, Seby Jones and William C. Friday.

Tonight, we recognize Jerry Moore as the next recipient of the Appalachian Medallion.

Now in the 49th year of his career, Coach Moore is the winningest coach in Southern Conference history and is regarded as one of the nation's finest. He speaks the language of winning and integrity to his players and community alike. He inspires championship behavior both on and off the field. Profound devotion to his players, the community and the Appalachian family have cemented Coach Moore's place in the history of Appalachian State University and his contributions will be remembered for generations to come.

Engraved on the back of Coach Moore's Appalachian Medallion are the words "Appalachian State University on April 24, 2010, awards this medallion to Jerry Moore, who through generous service to this institution exemplifies the dedication and commitment so identified with the rich heritage of the University."

Coach Jerry Moore—every day he gives his all to Appalachian State University.